Finding Meaning In Lifes Endless Fields of Rye

Image

After 5 days of Taylor Swift and Whitney Houston on continuous Loop, I think I am over the Great Man and Woman of the Year blues of 2012. I can honestly say that I have hit the high note in I will always love you, twice (it hurt….both times, from now on I will leave that to Whitney), and that Taylor Swift has to be one of the most angsty artists this side of nowhere (Seriously, the world can be a happy place…Blow Some bubbles, hug a kitten..just get over it). Moving on is a sad thing, but it is simply a part of life. You can cling to what might have been forever, but that would just be sad…and oh so pathetic. I have had to come to this very harsh but true reality, and it didn’t come without the help of those who I care about the very most.

 

            I entered the University 4 years ago without a real mission. I came to college expercting it to mold me. “You have to go to college” and if you do that, it will make you successful. “Okay I’m here- Give me my living”

 

            Well one of those wise old dead guys…I’m pretty sure it was Mark Twain said “The World doesn’t owe you a living.” And man was that true. College isn’t going to tive you anything that you don’t put in. It is what you make it. My freshman year, this is where I retreated for the hills. You mean I have to go meet people….its not going to be given to me. Well Damn. Forget it.

 

            But College is the time to make the effort and those risks, and thank goodness I have those people that pushed me to make the choices that I did. I don’t really regret any of them. There are definetly things I would have done differently, but for the most part I am happy with the  product I have gotten.

 

            I think my favorite book might be a perfect example of college. I have read the book Catcher in the Rye probably 20 times at least. It never gets old.

 

 

 

I must warn you that this is the time for spoilers.

 

 

 

In the book Holden Caulfield is in a metaphorical field, and he is the only one around. The field which is filled with Rye and small children are playing. he doesn’t want anyone to fall off the cliff. Thus he is the Catcher in the Rye. (Pure Genius on the part of J.D. Salinger)

 

 

 

That’s College. You could be on the edge of that cliff. (And Trust me…I have way been there.) Sometimes you jump off that cliff, and your parachute opens. Other times you need someone to grab you before you crashing to whatever uncertainty lies below. College provides you with that safety net.

 

I took those risks and I made those connections and it was so incredibly worth it. College is about truly learning and truly living. You find yourself and you discover what your values are. I joined every group that I was in, in order to make a difference at Southeast and I hope that I have.

 

For the past three years, I have been given the opportunity of the absolute lifetime. I have gotten to be a catcher in the rye of sorts. Tending to the needs of the students of the building that I live in, and making sure they don’t fall of the perpetual cliff of bad choices. It is an experience that I cherish and I am ever so thankful for, because it has called me to the next chapter of my life. I hope someday to be one of these catchers in the giant rye field of college.

 

 

 

 

 

“Anyway I keep picturing all these little kids playing some game in this big field of rye. and all. thousands of little kids, and nobody’s around-nobody big, I mean- except me. And I’m standing on the edge of some crazy cliff. What I have to do, I have to catch everybody if they start to go off the cliff- I mean if they’re running and they don’t look where they’re going. I have to come out from somewhere and catch the,. that’s all I do all day. I just be the Catcher in the rye, and all. I know its crazy, that’s the only thing I’d really like to be.”

 

-J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

 

Leave a Reply

